What’s that you’re listening to?

In high school people often used to ask, “what are you?” Humans love to label things and people, but I did not seem to fit into any particular category. I’ve been called a weird girl plenty of times but I take it as a compliment. One day I was a goth girl, the next day a hippie, another day a rock and roll chick, then I’d be in my softball uniform, then I’d arrive in something unexpected like suspenders or a suit and tie. I couldn’t help it, I liked experimenting and wearing whatever inspired me at the time. Consequently I was able to move in and out of the various social groups as I pleased, since a little part of me fit in each one. I was in art club, band, softball, and ultimate Frisbee. I played hackey sack every day after school. Shockingly I was not in drama! You would think with my love for costumes I would be all about acting but alas, I did not feel particularly comfortable being on a stage.

My hair went through similar changes over the years. A few years ago it became a joke at the office and people would place bets on what color was coming next. Any guy I would date enjoyed it because they said it was like getting a new girlfriend every few weeks. I finally got tired of the high-maintenance and for a total of one year now, my hair has been my natural color. I’m still what you’d call an alternative type of chick. My hair may not be crazy anymore but I have tattoos and wear whatever I damn well please…more often than not it’s vintage clothing with a rocker edge.

A new friend recently asked what kind of music I was into, and, like my looks, I have to say it’s all over the place crazy. It’s easier to tell you what I don’t listen to and that’s country western, the kind of metal with lots of screaming, Pearl Jam, and sappy acoustic type stuff from John Mayer and similar artists. Pretty much everything else gets some love from me. Here is just a small sampling of music I enjoy – and this is not in any particular favorites order.

The Cars – I’m a fan of 80s music but a lot of what’s out there is one –hit wonders. The Cars far surpassed that, cranking out tons of great songs. I’m a sucker for synthesizers so this new wave band has a special place in my heart. Most of their stuff is lighthearted and upbeat. Fun listening. Check out “Hello Again” and “Magic” if you’re new to The Cars.

thecars

Side note, while I’m on an 80s kick also check out The Talking Heads (“Swamp”), Alphaville (“Big in Japan”), Red Rider (“Lunatic Fringe”), and Depeche Mode (“New Dress”).

The Cure – Robert Smith didn’t like the band to be associated with “goth” but that’s how they are widely recognized…an 80s goth band. Whatever they are, they make me happy. I like their dark, warm sound. When they’re not being dark they can be quite playful. My favorite song is “The Lovecats.”

The Smashing Pumpkins – love them period, but specifically the Adore album. It’s beautifully dark with undertones of sadness. More synthesizers on this one, too. This haunting album is one of my favorites of all time.

SP

The Doors – surprise, surprise…another dark band. Jim Morrison was a fantastic poet and I’m all about the organ! I get lost in their tunes. I especially like going for a drive in the rain while their songs are playing. I really can’t pick a favorite, so gimme everything from The Doors. If I was forced to karaoke I would choose one of their songs.

fjfjfffff

Anders Trentemøller – I don’t know how he did it, but this Danish electronic musician got into my head and figured out exactly what my brain needed to hear. I’m only into his instrumental stuff and The Last Resort album is one I often listen to when I’m at home alone working on a creative project. Dark, electronic, minimalist…delicious.

trentemoller

Various grunge…Nirvana, Bush, Alice in Chains

Strong female vocals: Dum Dum Girls, Ladytron, Heart

Goth Rock (especially with synth) like The Birthday Massacre, Deadsy, Orgy, and Zeromancer.

Reggae: my parents raised me on Bob Marley so his music has always been a big part of my life

Dirty rap: Yeah…I said it. I like to get down when I’m working out and rap has the tendency to make you feel like a badass.

Disco – this is a guilty pleasure of mine. I love The Bee Gees and other disco tunes. If I could, I’d be dancing like John Travolta in Saturday Night Fever or anyone on Soul Train.

What else, what else…rock from the 60s and 70s. And folk rock. Simon and Garfunkel, Jethro Tull, The Turtles, The Hollies, The Beatles, Jimi Hendrix, Pink Floyd, Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, *gasps for air*

I’ll just stop right here but I’m a big music lover and one of my favorite treats is when someone introduces me to a new music love. I get extremely excited over good food and good tunes.

So tell me what you’re listening to today…this week…lately?

4 thoughts on “What’s that you’re listening to?

  1. I like a lot of the stuff mentioned, but my all time favourite is Dead Can Dance. I can’t wait for them to come to Toronto again.
    Lisa Gerrard is fantastic live (especially front row!).

    • Dead Can Dance is most excellent. Ideal for my kind of yoga and meditation. 🙂 It’s the kind of music that makes me shiver and sometimes even shed a few tears!

  2. I like listening to Tom Waits, Primus and golden oldies from the 70s, 80s and 90s. Some obscure things like Kaizers Orchestra, Babylon Circus or Geoff Berner are also in my favourite list. Thanks for sharing, looks like you’ve got a great taste in music. Keep on blogging in a free world – The False Prophet (but you know who)

  3. I wonder if you like Gogol Bordello? After listening to a few clips of Babylon Circus it it reminds me of them, only they aren’t zee French! Also I have a feeling you would like the Guardians of the Galaxy soundtrack. I’ve seen Primus live and they are definitely fun – I love all their goofy song and album names. Plus they do the South Park intro! How sweet is that.

Leave a Reply

