Five Reasons I Exterminated My Facebook Page

*Note how I say “exterminated.” That’s because I’ve come to find Facebook as a pesky pest that gets in the way of life. In my last post I mentioned that I’m clearing out clutter and simplifying my life. It’s not just physical clutter I’m talking about – I am counting Facebook as mental clutter. It gets in the way of other things I should be focusing on. Here are the five reasons I left Facebook –

One: I watched the South Park episode titled, “You have Zero Friends” and it was a hilarious eye-opener.

Two: It became a big time-waster for me. I’d go on to check messages and reply to comments, and before I knew it, 2 hours had passed by.

Three: I began comparing myself to others too much and feeling bummed about it. Even realizing a lot of people only post the best stuff – puffing themselves up.

Four: I realized I wouldn’t be missing much – most people post about things that aren’t of extreme importance even if they are entertaining.

Five: My generation is extremely narcissistic. I became disgusted with the fact that I was also getting sucked in. The act of taking a creative selfie became addicting.  Then you post it and here they come, the “likes” and glowing comments. It certainly is a self-esteem booster, but only temporarily. And it can become a popularity contest among your peers. Just the sheer number of photos people post of themselves is crazy.

Post-Facebook Thoughts

It’s been over a month now and I’m thrilled to report that I’m spending my newly acquired free time being productive: Working out, re-teaching myself the guitar, and doing more simplifying at home. I feel happier. Some people are afraid that they’ll miss out on important social events if they leave Facebook. That hasn’t been the case for me. One of my friends who just got married is having her wedding celebration and she simply sent me an email with the invite details, even though she has a Facebook event page for it. So it’s nice to know I’m not forgotten. Otherwise things are the same as they have been – being introverted I generally don’t go out and socialize much anyway. I have a few close-knit friends so we simply text, call, or email to see how the other one is or set up a time to hang out. If you do have true friends, they won’t forget about you if you leave Facebookland. And not once have I felt the itch to get back on.

Now then. Here is a lovely cat photo for you to enjoy. It’s Wolfgang, the gentle cat-beast. His coat matched the weather outside today. I may not be posting pics of myself on Facebook or very much on here but mark my words, you WILL see cat photos.

Img_2087

3 thoughts on “Five Reasons I Exterminated My Facebook Page

    • Thanks, Cherub! I’m trying to guess who you are but I’m at a loss. My mind comes up with a blank for “Cherub” and there are lots of people that call me Pika! 😀

    • Ok, I finally figured out who you are! Kinda shocking to hear from you but it was nice of you to comment. Also if you read one of my previous posts you would learn that sadly, my place with the black walls is no longer there because my old apartment building suffered an electrical fire. I had to move in with my parents for a while until my complex found me a new apartment to live in. I decided not to paint this one since I’m not sure how long I’ll be here.

Leave a Reply

