Dead Dragonfly Photo Op

This blog has been sadly neglected in 2014. I’ve been busy making some life changes including:

-searching for a new job as my print production department slowly dies off

-working with a personal trainer so I can transform my body into how I always wanted it to look

-removing clutter and paring down my personal possessions so I can live more simply

-also was forced to move mid-year because of a fire in my old apartment building (my beloved black-walled studio!)

Still working on the job thing. The personal trainer deal has been amazing thus far. I’ve cleaned up my eating habits and after a little over a month am seeing dramatic results including weight loss, muscle definition, and a tighter backside. I will post before/after pics eventually but not until I’m done. The program I’m doing is 3 months long. I must say I feel better overall with more energy, less headaches, and my skin has significantly cleared up. This is probably the best money I’ve ever spent. As for the rest, I’m pretty happy in my new place and I feel much lighter now that I’ve made great strides in living a more minimalistic lifestyle.

One sunny day at work I sat out back eating my lunch. The trees rustled and a soft wind blew this beautiful lifeless dragonfly onto my table. Who knows what killed it but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity since it was fully intact. I have a thing for bugs and “Bug” has also been my nickname for a long time. I decided to take Mr. Dragonfly home and photograph him. I was fascinated to see all his little bug parts up close. That may have sounded a bit dirty but I don’t know how else to word it. Anatomy? 😉 I was interested in the details such as the spindly little legs and face, so I experimented and used the macro setting on my camera a few times. I have never taken a photography course or used this setting on my camera so even though I didn’t know what I was doing I think it turned out ok. What do you think?

Img_2126   Img_2135 Img_2145 Img_2147 Img_2150 Img_2167 Img_2181

4 thoughts on “Dead Dragonfly Photo Op

    • Thank you for the compliment! I appreciate the challenge, but I don’t consider myself a visual artist. A writer, yes. I was just screwing around with my phone camera is all. 🙂

    • Smooth, shiny landing zone? 😀 I recall a time at the pool when this Monarch butterfly wouldn’t leave me alone. I’d be in the pool, and it would land on my head. I’d go under, come back up and it would always return.

Leave a Reply

