Project Gothify

As some of you know, I live alone with my cat in a small space.

Img_8850

IMG_8959

Wolfgang Catadeus, my classically-trained feline

My studio apartment has a ton of natural light. And being the gothy girl that I am, I knew that I had to paint the walls black.

Not that I have anything against light – I would go nuts living in a dark, confined space all day. But design-wise, it works well with the light and high ceilings. The overall effect is quite elegant. The black contrasts with the white ceilng, trim, and fireplace.

Img_8914

Img_8924

These are photos from around the time I moved in. I have since added artwork and decluttered even more. I will have to make a follow-up post with current photos.

And the black walls aren’t all, oh no. I gothified the switchplates and wanted to share with you my latest project, gothifying my lampshade.

Img_8894

It started out as an ordinary all-white lampshade. I’ve had it since I was in middle school I believe. I don’t have a photo of the lamp before I painted the base and trim a metallic black, so you’ll just have to imagine an all-white lamp.

Img_8605

So after I painted the base and the bottom/top of the shade black, I added black lace, beaded trim, and a green lightbulb. Voila! Instagoth. In case you were wondering, I used parcel paper to trace the lampshade and buy the proper amount of fabric, then cut the fabric with scissors and used a glue gun to attach it and the beaded trim.

Img_0822 Img_0815 Img_0813

7 thoughts on “Project Gothify

    • I just found a few online tutorials. I might as well go into the lamp refurbishing business now (gothic clientele only). 😀 As for goth cat, he’s brooding in the darkest corner of my apartment right now. He wanted tuna but I gave him canned pumpkin this morning. Terrible mistake. And thank you! I have been wondering how you’re doing, what’s going on, etc.

  1. Looks good! I was skeptical of black walls, but you’re right. It does balance well and doesn’t look too dark. I might even do that one day. Nice crafty goth touch with the lamp. I’m typing this while wearing a solid black t-shirt.

    • Thanks, Dan. Before my dad would help me paint (I had never done it before) I created a presentation for him on why black walls made sense in my apartment. He appreciated the thorough research and logical reasoning. 😀 You should try it, it is very calming and helps me sleep at night. Candles look great, too. You can never go wrong with a black t-shirt. It’s one of my favorite things to see a guy wear. They are underrated. I like simple but edgy.

Leave a Reply

